Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for December 23rd, 2011

Is it pathetic that I’m still trying to find a groove in this new house of ours?!  It seems to be the case.  Oh, and my laptop is dying slow death.  It started several months ago with my husband asking me to not use the laptop while sitting on the couch to which I replied, “But it’s called a laptop!”  Now, he’s asking (maybe not so) cryptic questions like, “If the computer stopped working right now, what would you miss?”.  Or making comments like, “You’ve had that computer for a long time!”

It really helps to have a spot to plunk down and just write/type – I’m still looking for that spot.  And yes, dammit, there are still boxes to be unpacked.  Putting up Christmas decorations sounds like so much more fun though – or making something in the kitchen.

When Jon came home from Wisconsin a few weeks ago he came bearing gifts for Sofia and I which was a surprise and super thoughtful.  Sofia got a little stuffed cow and my gift was a cookbook:  Best of the Best Wisconsin.  There’s an edition for every state, BTW.  I love just reading cookbooks and this one has factoids about the state scattered throughout the book.  What is fascinating to me is that Wisconsin’s culinary history is based in northern and eastern European cuisine which I’m not very familiar with – yet.  In an effort to try the fabulous concept of meal planning I made a list and didn’t lose it by the time I got to the grocery store and got all I needed for meals for the week.  Cabbage Lasagna was up first.  I turned really tasty – Sof wasn’t into though which didn’t surprise me.   I loved the cabbage instead of noodle alternative.

But I’m not even bloggin about that recipe.

What was an even greater hit was the Wisconsin Whoppers cookie.  Touted as “…great high energy cookies for trips or after skiing, skating or other fun winter activities.”

If you have an over abundance of rolled oats this is a great recipe.  I didn’t need to double it to fill the bowl.  It calls for 6 cups of oats!

Hearty.

Wisconsin Whoppers

1 and 1/4 cup light brown sugar, packed

3/4 cup granulated sugar

2/3 cup butter

1 and 1/2 cup chunky peanut butter

3 Eggs

6 cups rolled oats (not the quick cooking)

2 tsp baking soda

1 and 1/2 cup raisins or craisins (optional)

1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

4 ounces shredded semi sweet chocolate squares

1/2 tsp vanilla

Method:

Cream sugars, butters – about 3 minutes.  Add eggs one at a time.  Beat one more minute.  Add oats and baking soda.  Mix in option raisins/craisins and chocolate.  Add vanilla.  Drop by 1/4 cup fulls, flatten with bottom of glass tumbler dipped in water.  Bake at 350 degree farenheit for 15 minutes.

I’ll be honest I don’t really time how long I mix things.  I just mix until it looks good.  I’ve also finally admitted to myself that I do not like to mix chocolate and raisins in my cookies.  I like them each separately, I even like Raisinettes, but I do not like the two combined with dough.  Did you notice – no flour?

You know you’ve got a winner of a recipe when your toddler is eating the cookie, swaying from side to side in a near trance-like state going,  “Mmmmmmm!”

Oh and PS:  this cookbook is helping me with my ongoing pantry challenge that has, yes, followed me in the move.  I STILL have spaghetti noodles to get rid of – ugh.  Annnnnnd, soba too.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Read Full Post »